Personal Log, May 6, 2012

Life is full of changes.

Sometimes, change is for the better; sometimes, it’s for the worse.

Most people don’t like change. We get comfortable with the way things have been. Change interrupts our routines and comfort – it’s an inconvenience. Yet in reality, the only constant in life is change. Well, OK, and taxes.

For the last five years, I have worked for the Answers in Genesis ministry, in several different roles. I worked in the Dragonhall Bookstore at the Creation Museum; I have worked in the AiG warehouse, shipping out hundreds of thousands of books, DVDs, and other materials to thousands of people. I have written articles for Answers Magazine, and Junior High curriculum materials for the new Answers Bible Curriculum. Along the way, I’ve been tremendously blessed by the incredible people I’ve had the honor and privilege to work with. They will never know, this side of Heaven, how much they have encouraged me and how much I have learned from them. I can only hope I’ve been half the blessing to them that they’ve been to me.

May 18th, 2012 will be my last day at Answers in Genesis, at least as a full-time employee.

God has led me to take a new job at AdvancePierre foods as an inventory analyst.

I’m entering a new mission field.

The biggest drawback of working in ministry or with a non-profit organization is that the pay isn’t all that great. It’s been a struggle for my family and I to make ends meet on the salary I’ve been earning. This isn’t a complaint; it’s a sacrifice I’ve been willing to make for the last five years, because I know that God placed me at AiG for a reason. God has always provided enough money to keep a roof over our heads and food on the table, and often provided more than enough for us to have many of the things we didn’t necessarily need. Sometimes, His provision has been downright miraculous. I praise God that He has seen always provided enough.

This new position will pay significantly more than what I earned at AiG. My prayer is that this will allow me to focus less on finances, and more on ministry. My greatest desire is to reach people with the Gospel of Jesus Christ, and I am praying that this new position will give me more time and resources to be able to minister to people through my church, Fairfield First Baptist, and elsewhere.

Please pray for my family and me as we go through this transition. Pray also for my teammates in the AiG warehouse, as they transition as well. Most of all, please pray that God will use this new situation in my life, and that I will allow God to use me as He sees fit to reach people for His kingdom.

Leave a Reply

