Hearing from God

One of my Facebook friends recently posed the question, “Are you struggling to hear from God?” He then makes the following point:  We sometimes must wait and trust God’s timing.

I’m pretty much in the same boat as my friend.  I know God has called me to full-time ministry, and I sense that God is preparing me for a ministry that goes beyond anything I’m currently involved with, but it seems that God is silent as to what that ministry might be.  God knows that my heart’s desire is to serve Him wherever He chooses to put me.  I know He’s blessed me with gifts and talents far beyond my natural abilities, and that He wouldn’t have done so if there isn’t a purpose.  I’m having difficulty waiting for God’s direction, though.

The Bible talks quite a bit about waiting for God:

Psalm 27: 14

Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!

Psalm 37: 9

For evildoers shall be cut off;
But those who wait on the Lord,
They shall inherit the earth.

Isaiah 40: 31

But those who wait on the Lord
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.

What should our attitude be, when we’ve been waiting, and it seems God is not answering our prayers?  I’ve found that there are five things that I need to pray for when I am waiting to hear from God.

  1.  I need to pray for the patience to wait, rather than making a hasty decision, just because I think I’m supposed to be doing something.  Too many times, I’ve made a decision without waiting for God’s answer, and in retrospect, it’s never been the best decision.
  2. I need to pray that God will prepare me for whatever it is He is getting ready to call me to do.  I need to stay in God’s Word, stay in prayer, and stay in fellowship with other believers, learning whatever God is trying to teach me, so that when God does give me clear direction, I’m prepared to do it immediately.
  3. I need to pray for God’s protection from being deceived.  I need God’s protection and discernment so that I won’t listen to the devil’s attempts to divert my attention, or to do something other than what God wants me to do. I pray that God protects me from my own ambitions and my natural tendency to be impatient.
  4. I need to pray for God to give me clear direction.  I pray that when He does speak to me, I will have no doubts that it is indeed His voice I am hearing, and that I will have a clear understanding of His answer.
  5. Lastly, I must pray that when I do hear His voice, I will immediately obey.  I can have no reason to expect God to speak, if I am not prepared to immediately do whatever it is that He tells me to do.

I’ve found that when I pray for patience, preparation, protection, clear understanding, and a will to obey, that I am better able to wait for God.  Sometimes it’s still frustrating when my sinful nature gets in the way, and I get impatient when it seems God isn’t answering me as quickly as I think He should.  How arrogant of me!  But, when I trust in God’s goodness and omnipotence, I can wait for His answer in His timing, and I find myself better able to obey when I do hear His voice.

Yes, I am struggling to hear from God right now.  As I was writing this, my Media Player “randomly” played the song “Voice of Truth” by Casting Crowns:

Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of Truth

I’d very much appreciate your prayers as I seek the patience to wait for God’s clear voice, and to obey.

Leave a Reply

