Personal Log, 02/09/2012

I’m home from work today because of an ingrown toenail on the big toe on my right foot.  Yesterday, it took me 20 minutes to get my shoe on, and the toe was in agony most of the day.  Especially after I accidentally kicked a big metal toolbox.  I told my coworkers that I needed a toe-truck.

Back in September or October, I stubbed my toe, and cracked the toenail.  Part of the toenail fell off.  Ever since, I’ve been digging, filing, cutting, and clipping, trying to remove the nasty sharp spur on the left edge of the toenail

It hasn’t worked.

Did you know that Orajel™ works on sore toes, not just teeth and gums?  Dab a bit of Orajel™ right on the sore spot, and a few minutes later, you can poke it with minimal pain.

This morning, I decided it wasn’t worth the agony of trying to get a shoe over my enlarged toe, and then standing and walking on it all day, so I took a sick day, and have been sitting in my recliner with my foot up most of the day.  I go to the podiatrist tomorrow morning, so he can yank it out.  I’m not sure I’ve ever looked forward to having part of a toenail yanked out before, but I can’t wait to get it over with.

It’s been a fun few days.

_______________________________

Addendum, 2/10/2012

The doctor yanked out the whole left side of the toenail this morning.  It’s now wrapped up in gauze the size of a golf ball.  I’ve got a shoe on my left foot, and a sandal on my right, because there’s no way to cram the toe in a normal shoe.  And, since the Novocain wore off, it hurts worse than before.  So, I’m sitting with my feet up, missing another day of work, surfing the Web, and working on my blog.

Leave a Reply

